It is our choices, Harry, that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities.

Harry Potter and DumbledoreWelcome back purple ducks! Our topic today is choices or, more specifically, making strategic choices. It is ironically appropriate in light of a loved teacher sticking to her guns rather than continuing down her current path. On a personal level, however, *not* making the easy choice is the most difficult thing I’ve ever tried to learn. It is something I continue to struggle with.

I used to think that was good. I was “easy to please” and my complacency could even be construed as “happy.” As long as I got the same results from making the same choices…I was.

It’s amazing it didn’t happen sooner, but the first important time my easy choices didn’t yield easy results, I was completely lost. I was a good person with a great work ethic. I was easy-going, dang it! Why couldn’t I get where I wanted?

Easy. I worked my tail off 9-5… and that’s it. I invested in my current position rather than my long-term career. Goals? ……uhhhhh.

Clearly, change would require a serious adjustment in perspective.

So I made a hard choice. I would figure out what the heck I wanted out of life (at least for the next 5 years) and go after it like my heels were on fire. How I wasn’t completely sure, but I tucked this quote in the back of my mind:

“If you want something you’ve never had before, you’ll have to do something you’ve never done before.”

I’m not sure where it originated, but it worked. When presented with a choice, I took my time weighing my options. With a little direction from an aggressive entrepreneur and a great teacher, I started building an online presence. I read articles. I wrote articles. I even networked… and slowly I watch my goals become visible off in the distance.

They are still tiny dots, but they are in sight. I’ll keep making hard choices until I get there.

Thanks for reading,

 

Steph

P.S. What have you done this week (however small) to get where you want to be?

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

